Winners of the Jim Quigley Award

Volunteers are the glue of our community. Every year, Skerries Community Association awards a prize to an individual or a group of volunteers. You can read more about the award and in particular about Jim Quigley here.

2021: Volunteer Couple of the Year: Michael (Mick) and Noeleen Bolger

Recognition of couple’s volunteering contribution to Skerries life.

Jim Quigley 2021 Award Winners

Jim Quigley Award Winners 2021 Michael (Mick) and Noeleen Bolger with Michael McKenna (SCA) and Owen O’Brien, Chairperson, Skerries Town Football Club.


2020: Volunteer of the Year: Ronan O’Callaghan…

… for starting the community response to Covid-19 in our town

Ronan O’Callaghan receiving the 2020 Award from SCA Chair Michael McKenna

2019: Voluntary Group of the Year: Skerries Tidy Towns “Adopt A Patch”

Adopt A Patch receiving the award

Photo credit: Skerries Tidy Towns

2018: Voluntary Group of the Year: Skerries Youth Support Services (SYSS)

Image source: SCA

2017: Voluntary Group of the Year: Skerries Water Safety

Skerries Irish Water Safety, Voluntary Group of the Year 2017

Photograph: John Coleman, SCA.

2016: Volunteer of the Year: Diarmuid Ó Súilleabháin, Skerries Café Craiceálta

Diarmuid Ó Súilleabháin, Volunteer of the Year 2016

Photograph: Ó Súilleabháin family.

2015: Volunteer of the Year: Kay Coleman, Skerries Chamber of Commerce

Geoff McEvoy Kay Coleman Volunteer of the Year 2015

Photograph: Sabine McKenna, SCA.

2014: Young Volunteer of the Year: Rebecca O’Reilly, Foróige

Rebecca and Martin shaking hands

Photo source: SCA

2013: Voluntary Group of the Year:  An Post Rás – Skerries Stage End Committee

Photo source: Irish Independent

Photo source: Irish Independent

2012: Volunteer of the Year: Gerry Besseling, various activities over the years including his work for the Irish Cancer Society’s Daffodil Day, the Bridge Club (founder member, treasurer and more), bowling club, and local historian

Photo source: North County Leader.

Photo source: North County Leader

2011: Young Volunteer of the Year: Avril Noble, “Charity Begins at Home” shop, Thursday Club (now Guerrilla Gardeners)

Photo source: North County Leader.

Photo source: North County Leader

2010: Voluntary Group of the Year: Adopt-A-Beach . Emily Diebold receiving the award.

jim- quigley-award-2010 Adopt-A-Beach

Photo Source: Irish Independent.

2009: Volunteer of the Year: Sheila Brennan, Scoil Realt na Mara’s Parents’ Council, Skerries Community Preschool and Skerries Community Games

jim- quigley-award-2009 Sheila Brennan

Photo source: Irish Independent

Page last updated: 29 June 2022.